My Legacy Challenge Rules

I’m playing this Legacy Challenge with an altered version of PinStar’s rules.  Most of the rules are the same, but I’ve had to adapt parts so that I can have a 12-generation legacy instead of a 10-generation legacy.  So here’s the rules:

Starting Out

This is how I am setting up the Legacy Challenge:

-I’m using one of the EAxis neighbourhoods, called Sunlit Tides Lucky Palms.  It’s a fresh, brand new neighbourhood.

-I’m removing empty lots from the area so that I can place Community Lots for expansions.

-I’m turning Aging onto normal setting and Story Progression onto normal setting.

-I’m creating a brand new Young Adult in CAS to be the Founder.

-I’m allowed to customize my Founder’s appearance using any custom content (but probably won’t).

-I’m allowed to choose my Founder’s Traits, favourite food, music, and Life-Time Wish.

-I’m not allowed to create any other Sims for the neighbourhood or the Founder’s family.

-I’m to buy the biggest lot at the price of $14,700, so my Founder is left with $1,300 to spend.

-The Founder is not allowed to marry a rich Sim.  Any future generations can.

-I’ve got these Mods Installed, mostly for sanity reasons or to prevent EAxis from discombobulating the neighbourhood.

Rules of the Challenge

These are the basic rules of the challenge:

-No using cheat codes to give money or other advantages.  Moving stuck objects or Sims is okay.

-No using mods or EAxis objects that feel “cheaty”.  An example of this is the fountain of youth from Hidden Springs or a dragon from Dragon Valley.

-No cooking ambrosia, eating ambrosia, eating life fruit, or anything that extends a Sim’s life.

-The Legacy Family must always be the active household.

-I am not allowed to merge any household with my Legacy Family.

-No resurrecting the Founder, Heir, or Spouse as a Ghost.

-Sims are not allowed to hold death flowers to ward off death.

-Sims are allowed to have the Kleptomania trait and sell at the black market.

-Any Sim in the neighbourhood is allowed to move onto the Legacy Lot, except the ones that have already moved out.

-Sims can use birthday cake to age up only on the same day they do it automatically.

-Except for the Family Trait, the Expansion Trait, and the Expansion Lifetime Wish, newborn Sims will take random traits.

Changes to the Rules

These are the changes I am making to Pinstar’s rules:

-I will install a new expansion pack for each new Generation.  So the Founder will use the Base Game expansion, the following Generation uses World Adventures, the one after that uses Ambitions, etc.

-To ensure the next generation is given a fair shot at the traits and Lifetime Wishes, I will install it after the Spouse is pregnant but before she gives birth.

-Each new generation will use one of the expansion’s Lifetime Wishes.  (I may have to reroll a few times to get it.)

-Each new generation will have at least one of the expansion’s Traits.  (Again, I may have to reroll to get it.)

-Each new generation will use one of the expansion’s Careers (where possible).

-I want to explore the different life-stages of Sims (Ghosts, Servo, Aliens, etc), but many of them are considered “cheaty” because they live longer and have advantages over regular Sims.  So I am thinking I will allow each generation to have one supernatural creature.  For example, a Ghost in the Base Game generation and a Mummy in the World Adventures generation.

-However, the supernatural creature may not be the Founder, an Heir, or a Spouse.  It can be a Spare or a Roommate.

Optional Rules

These are the optional rules I am following:

-Family Trait: The Founder and anyone born into the family choose the Evil trait.

-Patriarchy: The Founder and all of his Heirs are male.

-Eyeocracy: The Founder and all of his Heirs will have red eyes.  (Or not, we’ll see.)

Terminology

-Generation: A way to measure how far I am into the challenge.  The Founder is generation 1, his children are generation 2, the last playable generation will be generation 12, the challenge ends when generation 13 is born.

-Founder: The Sim created in CAS.  Is also the Heir until the next generation is born.

-Mate: The current wife/girlfriend of the current Heir.  She can collect Legacy Points after giving birth.

-Heir: There can be only one!  The current generation’s Sim who will continue the challenge.  He will be able to trace his lineage back to the Founder.  No adoptions.

-Spare: Any sibling of the Heir who is not expected to continue the Legacy.  If the Heir dies, a Spare can take their place.

-Roommates: Any other Sims living on the Legacy Lot.  May or may not be relatives.

-Townies: Anyone who lives outside of the Legacy Lot.

-Legacy House: Where the Legacy Family live.

-Legacy Points: A way to score how well the challenge is going.

About misterwolfe86

Hello! I'm 30, Canadian, proud recipient of two College diplomas and 1 certificate. I'm working as a PSW by night, writing a Sims 3 Legacy Challenge blog by day. View all posts by misterwolfe86

2 responses to “My Legacy Challenge Rules

Leave a Reply

The Gallant Legacy

A Sims 3 legacy challenge

Lucy's Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

My legacy challenges :)

Periodically Different

A DITPT (Difference in the Periodic Table)

Fallout Shelter Addicts

Rated "Best Fallout Shelter Blog" by Overseer's Digest

Greg Chown / Portfolio

Storyboard and Illustration Samples, Set Design and Graphics

Maloney WYDC

A Sims3 Who's Your Daddy Challenge

Simbolistic

Storytelling in the world of the Sims

The Daily Beard

One man's words on beer, video games, writing, and the randomness of life.

Loewe Legacy

The Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

The Evil Overlord Legacy

Just another WordPress.com site

Set Apart

A Sims 3 DITFT story

