Chapter 15: Matlapin, M.D.

What happens this week: some children are born, a legacy member dies, a new expansion installed, so let’s get going!

Week 11 – Day 71:

Virgil has 8 days left before he turns into an adult.  Crud, I haven’t even started the paintings for legacy points, I gotta get on that.  I prefer to get it done when they’re Young Adults and still in their prime.

Tristan’s last article was a flop, so he wrote “Dating the Married Man”, “What is Preggers Anyways?” , and “Oxygen is Killing You!”.  Writing in the Article genre pumps out books quickest, but the royalties aren’t very good.  He’s also given an opportunity which involves becoming BFFs with Christian Tanner-Steel, who is actually the “misquote guy” from a few posts back.

“Ah!  My Sod.. You’re… you’re me!  You’re my clone!!”

“Ah!  My Sod.. You’re… you’re me!  You’re my clone!!”

It turns out Keri’s boss is Tanner (Tristan’s fling), and he gives her a promotion to Desk Jockey.  I guess it’s good to have connections!  Virgil bought stock in The Warehouse (where he works).

Joe’s girlfriend gave birth to a little girl named Sofia.  His family tree assures me that she’s his flesh and blood, which is nice.  Sortof.  Except for being born out of wedlock, and because of an affair.

Day 72:

Virgil is promoted to Con Artist and manages to drop off his bribe on time.  I never hear the pregnancy bells, but I can see that Keri is most definitely pregnant.  She and Virgil haven’t been “intimate” since before France, so for whatever reason the game let her travel when she was pregnant.  I’m going to go install Ambitions now.

The loading screen of anticipation.

The loading screen of anticipation.

Woot, start of the third generation!  I was so excited when this was installing, I couldn’t wait to see the new features.  I’ve never played this pack before and I’m not familiar with the content, so I’ll have to figure out which items/features are cheaty and how to avoid them.  I also added a Junkyard, Fire Station, Consignment Store, and Salon to Lucky Palms.

First sign of expansion: Joe is at work and gets sent to Civic Central Park to vaccinate some of the locals.

“Don’t worry, this is just a little dose called ‘Secret of the Ooze’.”

“Don’t worry, this is just a little dose called ‘Secret of the Ooze’.”

He’s also allowed to take experimental drugs, which make him pass out immediately.

I think Joe just took a date-rape drug.

I think Joe just took a date-rape drug.

I tried so hard to renovate the Legacy House.  I guess my brain just doesn’t work this way.  I literally spent 3 hours trying to make it look good, but it’s too blocky and spread-out:

Ground floor.

Ground floor.

Top floor.

Top floor.

At first I tried to build the home I grew up in, but I couldn’t figure out how to do a multi-floor stair to the basement.  I also wanted to put in a foundation, but then I couldn’t build any staircase to the basement.  The ground-floor is “kinda” accurate, but the top floor is almost nothing like the original.

Outside of house.

Outside of house.

Also I put in a Laundry Machine because their clothes are very dirty, and a Scraptronic Workbench for building stuff.

Day 73:

Virgil got arrested for the first time, so I guess he has a criminal record now.  Dammit Alyssa Hartman!  At least he got out of the slammer in time for Keri to go into labour.

The “Oh crap, what do I do?” dance.

The “Oh crap, what do I do?” dance.

Keri gave birth to two adorable little girls.  Niobe is the first-born (Evil, Eccentric), and Serefina is second-born (Evil, Light Sleeper).  At first I thought neither of them had the red-hued Wolfe-eyes, but it turns out Serefina does.

Taco-babies in their cribs.

Taco-babies in their cribs.

Tristan’s latest book is a hit, so he starts his next pulp publishing piece, “Watch out for Exploding Doorknobs!”  I’ve invited Cascadia’s boyfriend Pascel from France several times, and he finally arrives.  Roxanne never has time to play concerts any more so she retires.  Her new job is to upgrade objects around the house.

Joe gets sent out to the Masoleum and the Spa to teach the lone employee about medical attentiveness.  He also gets promoted to World-Renowned Surgeon, which is the most profitable career in the game!  (I think?)

Day 74:

Keri is pissed off that one of her co-workers arrested her husband, so she steals a car out of the Local Law Enforcement parking lot.  After the rush of getting away with unarmed robbery, she teleported to Loera-Steel’s garage and stole his car too.  And that’s why you don’t leave the keys in the ignition, Simmies.

“Sweet ride.  Let’s see how it handles!”

“Sweet ride.  Let’s see how it handles!”

Virgil is given the choice between joining the Evil branch or the Thief branch.  Since Alexander was already in the first stream, Virgil chooses the latter and is promoted to Safecracker.

A crazy Sim broke into Tristan’s office and tried to shut everything down, but Tristan used his silver tongue to talk him down, which earned him a promotion to Weather Man.

“I predict a light shower of meteors this afternoon, but otherwise a lovely day.”

“I predict a light shower of meteors this afternoon, but otherwise a lovely day.”

Another Eating Contest at the Diner; this time Joe and Keri won, everybody else didn’t.  Joe tried another random drug, and this one made him vomit in the bushes.

Day 75:

Tristan was made into an honorary member of the Preserve our Llamas Movement, and he started his first Drama called “Debit”.

“Well, according to the HeartScan 3000, your heart is still beating.  That’s the good news..”

“Well, according to the HeartScan 3000, your heart is still beating.  That’s the good news..”

Glitch time: Joe was sent to the Lovely Lake Park to diagnose clients.  His goal was to get 5 done and he did a lot more than 5, but the game kept sending extra Sims every few minutes.  When the time ran out he lost job performance for every Sim who hadn’t been diagnosed!  At this rate he’s going to get fired.  That’s not cool, EAxis!

“Let’s just adjust the Hypnotiser first, then BLAMMO!  No more cold symptoms.”

“Let’s just adjust the Hypnotiser first, then BLAMMO!  No more cold symptoms.”

“I’m gonna kick you, now cough please.”

“I’m gonna kick you, now cough please.”

Cascadia managed to finish her legacy paintings for Tristan and Virgil before her birthday party.  Ack, all the guests swarm into the basement when they get there!  Why, why, why?  Who dropped the baby on the ground!?

"Ugh, wetash! Indarna weebie!"

“Ugh, wetash! Indarna weebie!”

Cascadia aged up, and since she didn’t have a World Adventures’ trait yet I gave her Adventurous.  Her lifetime wish is to own a Bottomless Nectar Cellar.  Oh, and she joined the Culinary career at the Blooming Cactus Bistro, which is super-close to the house.

Oh no, Roxanne died!  She was climbing up the stairs with the laundry when she passed away.  She was 98.

“Floating?  That’s not good.”

“Floating?  That’s not good.”

“Mommy?”

“Mommy?”

Day 76:

Virgil was so upset he jumped into the laundry machine.

Virgil was so upset he jumped into the laundry machine.

Everybody’s pretty sad at Roxanne’s passing, but life goes on.  A clumsy Sous-Chef tripped on an errant Cucumber (which I can sympathize with), but Cascadia caught the food Spiderman-style.  Such a feat of supernatural Cooking skills promoted her to Spice Runner!

I still prefer Tobey MaGuire to the new guy.

I still prefer Tobey MaGuire to the new guy.

During a round of Hospital-Golf, Joe managed a 20-foot putt.  That’s probably really good.  His estranged son Blair Matlapin-Hudson gave birth to Zachery Ross, which is Joe’s grandson.  I threw a birthday party for Niobe and Serefina.

Smoochy smooch!

Smoochy smooch!

Joe also drugged one of the guests, but she seems to be enjoying the party anyways.

Joe also drugged one of the guests, but she seems to be enjoying the party anyways.

Day 77:

It seems that Niobe inherited Roxanne’s goldilocks, and Serefina inherited the Legacy red.  Niobe is Tristan’s niece, but she looks more like his daughter!  I’m still hoping Keri will have a male heir, but ifnot I can always make Serefina the torch-wielder.

Toddler Niobe being held by Tristan. Toddler Serefina being held by Tristan.

I’m glad Keri befriended Tanner, because he promoted her to a Traffic Cop.  Virgil bought stock in the Sahara Corporate Headquarters  (where Tristan works).  Virgil also completed the Marathon Runner challenge, so he should have a longer lifespan now (in theory).  Time for another World Adventure!

Community death count: 48 or so

Legacy Score: 18. (Gen: 3 + LTW: 2 + Portraits: 4 + House: 4 + LTR: 5)

Theme song of the week: “Teardrop” by Massive Attack

Wow, I gained 6 Legacy Points this week.  (1 for a new generation, 2 for paintings, 2 for unpacking all the expensive relics, and 1 for gaining enough LTR points.)  I’d call that successful!

About misterwolfe86

Hello! I'm 30, Canadian, proud recipient of two College diplomas and 1 certificate. I'm working as a PSW by night, writing a Sims 3 Legacy Challenge blog by day. View all posts by misterwolfe86

8 responses to “Chapter 15: Matlapin, M.D.

  • gryffindork7

    I actually really like the legacy house! I love what you did with the stairs. And Virgil in the laundry machine cracked me up. 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  • misterwolfe86

    The stairs was kindof tricky, I used a tutorial from Carl’s Sims site. I’m liking the house a bit more but I’m still figuring out which rooms should be used for what purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Heather

    I think the house looks pretty good! You’re too hard on yourself. I feel like I just can’t get the roof thing down. Ugh. I also loved your use of Simlish when everyone clustered up in the basement! Too funny! It flashed me back to TS1 Bob and Betty Newbie, and I was going through the tutorial, and I had to make them talk to one another… I was like “WHAT?!? That’s not English! What are they saying!?!” And I was super disturbed by it – for like, ten seconds. Now I don’t even notice it of course, but my husband, new to the game with sound, heard it one day and was like “What the?!?” And every now and then he tries to speak Simlish to me, it’s pretty danged funny!

    Liked by 2 people

    • misterwolfe86

      Oh I know, I’m a bit of a perfectionist. In the end it probably doesn’t matter if it’s efficient or what it looks like as long as Sims can get from point A to B, but I’m still going to work on it a bit. I posted on MTS and some ppl made suggestions on what to work on. I’m surprised EAxis hasn’t published a Simlish dictionary yet, because it would definitely sell!

      Liked by 1 person

  • somebodysangel13

    Personally, I like the house layout; lots of space is good, fewer route fails! I think it just needs a bit of decorating – personalise the bedrooms for the occupants and such. That’s what really makes the house look nice, decoration 🙂

    The girls are cuties! You’re right, Tristan’s niece looks more like his own daughter. But that’s okay, it’s just Tristan’s mother’s colouring coming through to the granddaughter. Are you trying to keep the red hair and eyes in the family?

    Liked by 2 people

    • misterwolfe86

      I’ve recently changed all the wallpapers from that horrible free wooden one to better ones, and it’s definitely nicer. House design is so weird. I’ve actually tried building a house on another neighbourhood without any restrictions to try and create a design that works for me, but there always ends up being a problem.

      I’d like to see the red hair and red eyes passed down through the generations, but if it doesn’t work out I won’t be too crushed.

      Liked by 1 person

  • Chapter 36: The Well of Eternal Hate | Mister Wolfe Legacy Challenge

    […] Niobe’s new life-goal is to finish 100 sculptures before she passes away.  Challenge accepted! Hyperion keeps rising in the Architecture career, as he becomes the Regeant of Rugs (7). Oh, Sofia King-Tanner (nee Ross) died!  She was one of Joe’s illegitimate children. […]

    Like

  • Kate Loewe

    I’ve always found the huge pill hilarious 😂 Seriously, how come the Sims can swallow something that has the same size as avocado? Ha ha ha

    Nice work with the legacy house! I prefer larger rooms myself, they’re great for taking close-up screenshots! I believe that there is a way to make the staircase go through the foundation… Too bad you cannot add it to the finished house 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Legacy of the Xavier's

A Story Of A Man, A Dog, and Their Legacy

The Mayfields

a Sims 3 Story

The Gallant Legacy

A Sims 3 legacy challenge

Lucy's Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

My legacy challenges :)

Periodically Different

A DITPT (Difference in the Periodic Table)

Fallout Shelter Addicts

Rated "Best Fallout Shelter Blog" by Overseer's Digest

Greg Chown / Portfolio

Storyboard and Illustration Samples, Set Design and Graphics

Maloney WYDC

A Sims3 Who's Your Daddy Challenge

Simbolistic

Storytelling in the world of the Sims

The Daily Beard

One man's words on beer, video games, writing, and the randomness of life.

Loewe Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

